Diet and Exercise Progress

Following my BRCA-1 diagnosis, my health relating to diet and exercise became vastly more important than it had been in the past. I now have to be much more aware of what I put in my body and how often I use it. I’m thankful for this wakeup call and I have enjoyed the process of becoming a healthier person. Reflecting back on the types of food I used to commonly eat and the lack of exercise I got, it is not surprising that I feel significantly better now. I find myself looking forward to big green salads and hour-long Peloton rides, where the old version of me would have dreaded those things.

However, it’s safe to say I still have a fair amount of weight to lose and muscle to gain before I can confidently go through with my surgeries. According to my doctors at SCCA, it’s important for me to be “as lean as possible” in order to reduce my risk of developing cancer early and it’s also important for me to pack on as much muscle as possible because I will be at an increased risk of osteoporosis after the hysterectomy/oophorectomy surgery. Right now, I’d categorize myself as a healthy, slightly overweight individual and my goal is to become a very healthy, lean individual.

I will be honest that I have not made as much progress on my weight loss goals this summer as I had intended because I have been overwhelmingly busy. Not only am I busy at work, but I’m also finishing my MBA, volunteering at a real estate organization, constantly hosting house guests, and traveling to see friends and family after the pandemic. None of these excuses are valid in the scheme of things, but the bottom line is that I have not been putting my health at the forefront of my priorities and it’s time for that to change.

Luckily, I’ll finish grad school in a few days which will free up significant time in my schedule and space in my mind for a healthier lifestyle. Another factor which I expect to be a great motivator and to keep me on a better track this is the fact that I’m preparing for my wedding in the fall of 2022. I’ll admit that my overall health relating to my gene mutation has been a decent motivator to be healthy, but sometimes a more superficial motivator like a wedding dress is what one needs for actual weight loss.

Leave a comment